Happy Heart Day!

I have always loved Valentine’s Day. When I was younger, my parents always made a big deal out of it and I loved seeing their love for each other and their love for my sister and me. The day was always full of heart themed foods and decorations, plenty of chocolate, and the cutest Valentine cards. I hate when people spend the weeks leading up to Valentine’s Day complaining about it (but what can we do) because I don’t always view it as a holiday between a romantic relationship. My parents made it special for me growing up and continue to incorporate me into their Valentine’s Day plans. As I’ve aged and have been able to have a romantic valentine, it has only gotten more special.

Since Valentine’s Day was kind of on an awkward Sunday, we prolonged the event and celebrated all weekend. Saturday was spent going to Medici Cafe, doing some cleaning, catching up on American Idol and Survivor, and going to California Pizza Kitchen. I hadn’t been to an actual CPK aside from in an airport, so it was really nice. While the food was great, it was an interesting experience because they brought all three courses of food at the same time. We were sitting at a semi-small table and had three drinks, an appetizer, two entrees, a dessert, and multiple appetizer/tasting plates in front of us all at once. We just had to laugh because it was so weird but it was a really great meal.

For Valentine’s Day, we went to get sushi and to a Dirty Dancing themed dance class. It was a lot of fun and a great workout but was also challenging! I know it wasn’t on the top of Zach’s list of fun things but he was a really good sport and I think he even enjoyed himself. I hope to go back to the dance studio for more of their group lessons!

However, one of my favorite parts of the day was waking up and seeing one of the decorations that Zach made. Growing up, my parents started this tradition of putting heart shaped doilies on pieces of ribbon and hanging the ribbons from my doorway. Each doily would have an adjective, something they liked about me, or a thing I enjoyed written on it. Even when I went to college, my dad drove to my dorm and hung them for my roommate and me my freshman year. It has always been something I loved and I love that Zach has continued this tradition. I can’t wait to do this for our kids someday and I hope they love it as much as I always have!

Last, but definitely not least, we had a really nice time exchanging our “presents” this year! Zach provided me with this very interesting teddy bear while I incorporated a lot of my personality into my valentine for him this year. All in all, I love Valentine’s Day, I love love, and I love my valentine.

Leave a Reply

