Favorite New Snack Recipes!

With school starting, it is important to have a few snack items on hand, so I decided to do some Pinterest searching to find some good, easy recipes. I tried a few different things, but these were my three favorite Pinterest finds!

#1: Healthy Pumpkin Bread

This recipe has become one of my favorites. Instead of large amounts of oil, this recipe uses applesauce and greek yogurt to add a creamy element. Similarly, I decided to add chocolate chips to one loaf (because why not?). While I was hesitant at first about the combination of pumpkin and chocolate, it tasted delicious. This didn’t last long in our house!

Link: http://blogs.babycenter.com/life_and_home/healthy-and-delicious-pumpkin-bread/

image31.jpeg

#2: Kale Chips

Okay, I was extremely hesitant about this because I am not a fan of raw kale. I’ve tried it in wraps, smoothies, and salads, but I do not like the texture or the taste. However- these are delicious. We made two batches and seasoned one with chili powder and paprika and one with garlic and salt, and they were very good. However, this recipe says to generously salt them and I would highly recommend NOT generously salting them unless you want to literally just pour salt in your mouth. One side note- these do not smell very good if you open a container of them, so I don’t think these would be an “appreciated” school snack!

Link: http://www.refinery29.com/food52/118?crlt.pid=camp.m0M9qBbd39FE

IMG_1592

#3: Puppy Chow

I actually made this over the holidays because I feel like puppy chow is the epitome of deliciousness, but I am planning on making it again. How can you go wrong with peanut butter, chocolate and powdered sugar? I don’t think you can. This recipe is different than the one I typically used because it uses butter, but I also don’t think you can go wrong with butter. I mix mine for slightly less time than most because I love having the big chunks, but obviously you can do what you please. Even though the holidays are over, this is a nice way to keep the season alive 😉

Link: http://showmetheyummy.com/best-puppy-chow-recipe-aka-muddy-buddies/

Leave a Reply

