Christkindlmarket Chicago.

I have not been feeling well since last week, but I knew I wanted to go to the Christkindlmarket before it closed for the season. I had heard great things about it and thought it would get me in the holiday spirit. With the weather being so nice, it doesn’t feel like Christmas is in 3 days, so I wanted to do something that felt Christmas-y. Plus, I am determined to cross everything off of my to-do list!

My favorite booths were those that sold ornaments. My favorite Christmas decoration each year is always the tree, which is why I am so sad I wasn’t able to put ours up this year. I love buying ornaments from vacation spots and being reminded each year of the places we have been while we decorate. There were so many beautiful ornaments that I saw yesterday. My favorites were the Titanic, one with an overall Chicago theme, and the Bean (Chicago’s Cloud Gate).

Christkindlmarket was so cute! It is heavily influenced by German culture, so there was an abundance of German food, drink, and decorations. There were other booths that represented other cultures, but that was definitely the overall focus. We tried German pretzels, cider, Gingerbread, and chocolate candies, and they were all delicious. Well, Zach was not a fan of the Gingerbread, but I guess that means more for me! In addition, after our trip to Wisconsin last weekend, we bought some more cheese from a booth we visited. I mean, you can never go wrong with baked cheese, right? I will definitely go again next year, but will need to save money to get some of the things we had to pass on this year!

On the way home, we stopped by Macy’s because they seem to always have a beautiful Christmas-y storefront. I am constantly impressed by the architecture inside so many of Chicago’s beautiful buildings, but I was even more surprised that this was inside of a Macy’s. I also found the inspiration for my Christmas Day table spread some day… One can wish!

Overall, I am loving the ability to explore these new Chicago Christmas traditions, and I can’t wait to see more. What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

