Sister.

There are a few relationships in my life that I know I will cherish forever, and one of those is that with my sister. While she is 6 years younger, and in that glorious teenage-I can suddenly drive-give me money-I’m cooler than you-I need 4 blanket scarves-why don’t you know what “on fleek” means-stage, I am really enjoying our relationship more and more.

Growing up, I didn’t realize how lucky I was to have a sibling. I would like to think that I tried to be loving, but I probably wasn’t as loving as I could/should have been. When I was in elementary school, I asked my parents if we could share a room… That was a terrible decision. Not only does my sister talk a lot during the day, but she talks in her sleep and snores to fill the gaps. Life with my sister as my roommate only lasted a few days.

It wasn’t until I moved out of my parents house and went to college that I realized how much I enjoyed her presence. I was too annoyed by the shirts that randomly disappeared from my closet, and the constant shadow when I was trying to embody my bratty teenage years, to appreciate the little human she was. If I could go back to my childhood, that is something I would like to change.

Now, when I go home or FaceTime with my parents, I can hear her witty jokes and watch her funky dances and I see brief moments of me at that age. I can hear her stories and remember when I experienced the same sadness, happiness, and changes. If I could wish anything for my sister, it would be for her to become the best version of herself while enduring as little pain as possible.

Having a sibling caused me to grow up a little faster, to share and be a flexible child, and to re-think some potentially poor choices because of the little eyes watching me. Now, it provides me with a constant source of friendship, someone to be so proud of, and sometimes a mirror image of myself. What has being a sibling taught you?

Leave a Reply

