Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving has always been one of my favorite holidays because it mixes two of my favorite things: family and delicious food. Although I am not a fan of football, this has also become a tradition in my Thanksgiving holiday since I have been married. The newest transition that we are incorporating in our Thanksgiving holiday is traveling! Moving to Chicago has been a wonderful experience, but I can’t say I am looking forward to 10-11 hours in a car tomorrow and Sunday. However, Thanksgiving is a holiday to focus on the things we are thankful for, and the things that bring joy to our lives. Here are a few of the things I am thankful for this year:

My Husband

This year was the best of our marriage so far; we have learned more about each other in the last few months than we have in the 6 years we’ve been together. I am thankful for his willingness to embark on this adventure with me and his love he shows me every day. He is a full time student as well as a full time employee, and I am impressed by his ability to balance those things while still having time for me.

My Family

This year was huge for my family; my husband and I moved to Chicago, my dad retired from the Army, my mom is in the middle of her Nurse Practitioner program, and my sister got her drivers license. We all had a monumental year and have all supported each other throughout the transitions and changes we have been making. I know that everyone says they have the best family, but I do believe that my family is perfect for me. I am thankful for their support, their love, the reality checks they provide me with, and their willingness to help me with everything that I do.

 Graduation!

I am thankful to have graduated from such a beautiful school. The University of Kansas molded me into the person I am today, and I am thankful to have been a student there for the last four years. I do miss the beautiful walks on campus and (oddly) camping for basketball games, but I miss the people more. Rock Chalk Jayhawk!

Arizona

This summer we took a trip with Zach’s family to see the Grand Canyon & some family in Arizona and then at the Lake of the Ozarks (where my sister was able to join). We had such a good time, and saw some of the most beautiful views I have ever experienced. If you haven’t been to the Grand Canyon, I would highly recommend going at some point!

Boston
We also went on a trip to Boston and stayed in the Northeast for awhile to spend time with my grandparents. We went to Boston to meet with the Corvias Foundation and all of the other scholarship recipients who graduated from college this year. I am so thankful for them for allowing me to graduate from KU debt free. Boston was absolutely beautiful and being able to catch up with some of my friends was such a nice time. After that trip was over, we stayed in New Hampshire, but journeyed to Maine, Vermont, and Massachusetts again a few times for little day-trips. It was such a fun trip and I am officially in love with the scenery in the Northeast!

My friends (and my pups!)

I am thankful for the friends that I have made over the years and their lasting impression on my life. It is hard starting over, but being a military child, I know that the true friendships will last and distance does not mean anything. I also have to include my puppies in this section because they are two of my favorite friends! I can’t wait to see them when I go home as well.

A New Beginning!

Last but not least, I am so thankful for this new beginning here in Chicago. This has been a decently smooth transition, and I feel so blessed to have met some truly amazing people and to be going to such a great school. I am ready for all of the adventures, friendships, memories, and life that this city is going to bring me.

Overall, this has been a special year for me, and I am so thankful to be where I am. I hope that you all have extensive lists of things you are thankful for as well, and that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

